Grief & Loss Therapy

Grief & Loss Therapy Specialist Q&A

Our therapists at Mind-Body Care in Mountain View, CA, can help you recover from grief and loss. Contact us today! We are conveniently located at 2672 Bayshore Parkway, Suite 1045 Mountain View, CA 94043. For more information, please call us or request an appointment online.

Grief & Loss Therapy Specialist Near Me in the Bay Area, Mountain View, CA
Grief & Loss Therapy Specialist Near Me in the Bay Area, Mountain View, CA

Table of Contents:

What are the stages of grief?
What is grief counseling?
How can counseling help?
What are some grief counseling techniques?

The loss of a loved one is never easy to deal with; it can cause sadness, grief, regret, depression, and a mixture of negative feelings. The time it takes for someone to accept the loss of a loved one and move on from mourning is different in every situation; in cases where it seems that all hope is lost, therapy can help. Grief & Loss Therapy Specialists are trained to help people accept their loss and move on in a healthy, productive manner.

What are the stages of grief?

The stages of grief are experienced differently in every situation and can occur in any order or with any number of stages, including:

Disbelief & Shock — The initial reaction to loss includes a feeling of shock or even disbelief of what has happened. Learning a loved one is gone can create feelings of numbness, doubt, or even a lack of feeling altogether. This can last for weeks and is a normal form of emotional protection.

Denial — The next stage of grief reflects the stubbornness of the human spirit as the mind goes into a state of denial to avoid the pain and reality of loss. It can be hard to accept that a loved one will not be around anymore and is often presented with a refusal to believe.

Guilt & Pain — After the full realization of someone’s death sets in, the initial numbness someone experiences often leads to extreme emotional agony and suffering. Guilt often accompanies this pain. A person may experience feelings of guilt, questioning what they could have done to prevent this from happening. They may also feel remorse over missed opportunities or things they did or did not do with the person they loved before they passed.

Bargaining — The negotiation phase is marked by a feeling of hopelessness and often arises from a desire for a sense of control. This phase is common when anticipating loss, such as when a loved one is terminally ill and can result in making bargains with a higher power, like promising to change certain behaviors if their loved one lives.

Anger — As an unwarranted reaction to the feelings of helplessness, people going through this phase tend to lash out at the ones around them or even express contempt about certain events, places, or people. In this stage of grief, it is not uncommon to place undue blame on someone or something for the loss.

Depression — The stage of depression often comes after other highly emotive stages, although it may occur earlier on in grieving people. It is a normal and healthy stage to go through, and paves the way for the final stage of acceptance.

Acceptance — While adjusting to the loss of a loved one, extreme feelings such as anger and depression fade away. Acceptance does not equate to happiness, but it allows a person to move on and return to a normal way of life.

What is grief counseling?

Grief counseling is a type of counseling that is specifically designed to help those who are grieving. It is a supportive process that can help people work through their grief, come to terms with their loss, and work toward recovery. Grief counseling is different from other forms of counseling in that it is not focused on solving a person’s problems or improving their situation. Instead, it focuses on accepting and understanding the emotions, behaviors, and changes that occur as a result of a loss. Grief counseling is a growing field, with many different approaches and techniques used. It is often the first thing people turn to when a loved one dies because it can help make the experience less overwhelming. The most common causes of grief are the death of a loved one and major life changes, such as a divorce or a job loss.

How can counseling help?

Counseling can help people going through grief or loss in a multitude of ways, including:

– Addresses their feelings
– Identifies coping mechanisms and support systems
– Addresses specific needs
– Deals with the impacts of the loss
– Sets goals
– Helps manage setbacks

What are some grief counseling techniques?

Grief counseling techniques often involve opening up dialogue between the patient and therapist, and may include:

– Talking about the deceased
– Distinguishing grief from trauma
– Dealing with guilt
– Addressing suppressed emotions

If you or someone you love has experienced a loss, the professionals at Mind Body Care can help with the grieving process. Call us today to book an appointment with our grief and loss therapy specialist, we are conveniently located at 2672 Bayshore Parkway, Suite 1045 Mountain View, CA 94043. We serve clients from the entire Bay Area, Mountain View CA, Palo Alto CA, Menlo Park CA, Redwood City CA, Stanford CA, Los Altos CA, Sunnyvale CA, and Cupertino CA. We look forward to serving you!